Dave
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2021 JTR
Occupation
Navy
Vehicle Showcase
So I have a JTR currently on order, I have not finalized the order yet. I have been trying to find more information on the 4:1 rock-trac T-case. i am new to the Jeep 4x4 systems as this will be my first Jeep. (sold my Taco) the type of wheeling I plan on doing with the truck involves mud, snow, rocks ect. I like to drive technical trails and get out deep in the woods to hunting and camping sights. I will be living in WA for the most part and it has a rainy season.

looking for better clarification on this case, the small description from the build website states "The Rock-Trac® Full-Time 4x4 system combines a 4:1 low gear ratio tailored for low speed rock crawling with the convenience of a a 4H-Auto mode that will automatically engage and disengage 4WD as needed to maintain traction."

would the auto 4H serve well in rain and snow on the road? or is it only good for off pavement as well?

thanks for the help as any is appreciated.
Sponsored

BLK HOLE

First Name
Zach
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2020 JTR, 2012 JKUR
Vehicle Showcase
Said you had one on order then it isn't finalized...so not on order, lol.

Anyway - Comes from the Wrangler, just starting in 2021 for the Gladiator.

The 4:1 Rubicon case has a larger chain and 4:1 crawl ratio, where the stock (sport and other models) one is 2:73 irrc. The auto 4H just comes on if your wheels start to slip. Since all JTs and all wranglers can just be manually pulled into 4H while moving this feature basically just does it for you.

4H, or 4L, isn't pavement friendly. Needs slippage or wide turns.

LostWoods

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2024 4Runner / 1995 YJ
all have a 1:1 4Hi which is what you'll typically use in light mud, snow, and on the road in sketchy traction scenarios. The 4:1 case or the 2.73:1 case in the rest of the trucks if only for 4Lo and it's 100% a personal preference.

PyrPatriot

Threads
Reaction score