Am I thinking clearly?

DMW727

First Name
Matt
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2017 Ford Explorer
Hey guys! I am looking at buying a Jeep Gladiator and would appreciate any feedback on my ideas. I'm new to the off-road community and want to make sure I'm not getting ahead of myself.

I'm wanting a Jeep to take off road (mostly locally for now TX, OK, AK, NM) but will also be my daily driver ( I'm a Firefighter so driving isn't too much) I went to a local dealer and they showed me the Sport and Sport S. I liked the S but they all seem to have either too few features or too many.

With this in mind I think factory ordering would be the best? I have built on what i want online as follows:

2020 Jeep Gladiator Sport S: Gator Green, Tan cloth seats, spray bed-liner, floor mats, Max Towing Pkg, popular equipment pkg, automatic transmission. Coming up to $41,540.

I would be looking to at least put a 2" lift and change wheels and tires right away (I hate the silver rims and would hate to take them home... is it common to do swaps or trades with the dealer?)

From what I have read I should be looking for a dealer that will do 5% below invoice. (hear that there is a dealer in Houston that commonly accommodates this.)

I guess my questions are is this build a good jumping point for a beginner to get off road and have fun but also available to be modified for more serious treks in the future?

Would it be beneficial to order now or wait to see if there are bigger incentives?

Thanks in advance for all your help!
Sponsored

Sorbs

First Name
Brian & Sunny
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2021 Ram TRX, 2020 Gladiator LE
Vehicle Showcase
You're in the right place. Do a little digging here for the best deal. Remember, you can always have the dealer you pick deliver your JT to your house. It is a nominal fee but when saving $$$ who cares. Your target is 8% below invoice + rebates and incentives.

ZTMAN

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2019 F150, 2016 JKU WW