Sponsored

Anyone running the Hooker Blackheart muffler?

mgroeger

First Name
Mike
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2021 JLUR 2.0T, 1991 YJ rock crawler
Occupation
I make microchips for a living.
Vehicle Showcase

ChattVol

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
JLU 4 door
Looking for a high clearance muffler and came across this. I've heard the Savvy and AFE versions but can't find video on this specific muffler NOT the one with dual tips. Greatly appreciate any real world experience with this one.

https://www.holley.com/products/exh...blackheart/jeep/jeep_wrangler_jl/parts/BH5410
How does this exhaust sound compared to stock? I'm also looking for a high clearance setup that isn't alot louder. Will you post a pic from the rear to show added clearance? Thanks!

OP
OP
mgroeger

mgroeger

First Name
Mike
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
Occupation
Vehicle Showcase
How does this exhaust sound compared to stock? I'm also looking for a high clearance setup that isn't alot louder. Will you post a pic from the rear to show added clearance? Thanks!
Sounds just a little tick louder than stock and in a good way. The Mrs. didn't want anything loud and this is just a tiny bit more and has a really nice note when you jump on it, it's subtle. All in all it we are very pleased.
Busted the passenger side hanger post when removing the muffler. What a PITA to get those rubber isolators off the posts. Got the new part on the work bench ready for install. Those posts are aluminum and have zero ability to flex. Couple that with a "not in the mood for this BS" attitude and a finger with a healing missing finger tip and you get a broken post :)
It's around $315 but order it from Northridge4x4 to get the forum discount and with tax and free shipping you will come out just under $300. The thing is beefy too, heavy and well built and the tailpipe is adjustable.
Install is a PITA at first. Call me if you buy this and I'll tell you what to look out for.

img_3315-jpg.jpg

img_3314-jpg.jpg