Sponsored

Are most Overlanding rigs overweight?

Kch

First Name
Kevin
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2020 Jeep Gladiator Rubicon,1932 ford sedan,1932 ford coupe,1931 ford sedan,1959 Olds custom1959 Olds custom
As the title suggests I'm concerned about weight on my Gladiator. I have been reading the forum, as well as searching the internet for information. I've been building cars for over forty years. I also raced in the Viper Challenge Series so I know my way around a car. But this is my first foray into Jeeps.
I've seen lots of Overland builds that I like. Especially the ones from SEMA, but I just don't see how they can not be overweight. I have a JTR that i'm building into an overlanding rig. I plan on actually doing extended back county travel, but have no interest in rock crawling. I am an ER Doc. so I am trained to always think the worst. This has led me to start my build with safety and recovery in mind first. I installed a Fab Four Matrix front bumper with a 10K Smittybuilt waterproof winch. For the rear I installed a Road Armor Stealth bumper with a Warn 8000MS winch. Both winches have synthetic rope and wireless remotes.
Both winches and bumpers weigh 400 pounds total. My bride and I weight 335 combined. The door sticker says cargo and passenger weight should not exceed 1221 pounds. That leaves 486 pounds to further outfit the truck and add provisions for trips.Two five gallon Jerry cans full of extra fuel way 80 pounds. Ten Gallons of water weighs 84 pounds. Recovery gear will be at least 100 pounds. I'd like to carry an extra spare so that adds another 90 pounds.
That leaves 132 pounds for a rack,tent,gear,provisions etc. How is it possible that all of these awesome rigs I'm seeing are not overweight?
Sponsored

PyrPatriot

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
JT Sport S Max Tow; Honda Element