Auto lights keep switching

Snowdogyyz

First Name
Steve
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
Gladiator Overland
I have my lights on auto. But sometimes I’ve noticed it switches out of auto into a different manual mode. Any idea why? I’m new to Jeeps so still learning my way around. It’s an Overland and I love it so far!
Sponsored

Mr._Bill

First Name
Bill
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2020 Jeep Gladiator Overland - 2013 Nissan Leaf SV
Vehicle Showcase
I have my lights on auto. But sometimes I’ve noticed it switches out of auto into a different manual mode. Any idea why? I’m new to Jeeps so still learning my way around. It’s an Overland and I love it so far!
The switch doesn't move on it's own. Someone is moving it, you're bumping it with your knee, or it's broken. The sensor in the dash turns the headlights on and off when in auto mode. They also turn on when the windshield wipers are on.

OP
OP
Snowdogyyz

Snowdogyyz

First Name
Steve
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
Gladiator Overland
That’s why I’m wondering. I set it on auto and I’m pretty sure my knee is not touching it. I’ll keep my eye on it a few days and if it continues I’ll take it in.

ShadowsPapa

First Name
Bill
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
'22 JTO, '23 JLU, '82 SX4, '73 P. Cardin Javelin
Occupation
Retired auto mechanic, frmr gov't ntwrk security admin
Vehicle Showcase
This reminds me of my wife's Grand Cherokee. The light switches in those are even more stupidly located. She drives with the seat forward in part because she's not real tall at 5'6" but also because of her handicap - abbreviated arms, she needs to REACH things.