First Name
Andy
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2004 Wrangler Rubicon, 2020 Gladiator Rubicon
Occupation
Retired
I've recently had some battery trouble. I went to the dealer because my Jeep was still under warranty. It took 3 trips to the dealer to resolve the issue. While the dealer worked on my Jeep, I studied the threads here. First impression? Durn, this battery poop is complicated. Even the dealer with all of his fancy tools and training has trouble. Anyway, we should be able to develop a guide/flow chart to help other members here. I'm going to start by listing the possible factors for failure and then sharing my experience.

problems:
Jeep will not start
Stop/Start will not work
Batteries will not charge

components
Main Battery
Aux Battery
Intelligent battery sensor
Fuses
Relays

complicating factors
system parameters (them durn black boxes)
special procedure for jump starts or for charging batteries

easily available info
charging voltage (from the driver's display)
voltage of system before start (from the driver's display, preferably after sitting for the night)

I saved this drawing from my research. I wish I knew who developed this so I could give him/her credit. It's good!
i-fjswgZh-X3.jpg

My Stop/Start-Remote Start quit working. I checked the voltage of my batteries before start using both screen 2 on the driver's display and with a multimeter. I also separated the batteries and tested them with my multimeter. My batteries tested at 12.4 volts, i.e., they tested good. Good meaning that the voltage was at an acceptable level for 2.5-year-old batteries.

i-N9JcQnx.jpg

The first trip to the dealer they tested both batteries, found them good, and replaced the Intelligent Battery Sensor. The Stop/Start worked the first day but quit again on the second day. This was the dealer's comment:
i-Z6vM9fG-XL.jpg

Note that the IBS level the dealer's tech commented on is roughly equal to 12.4 volts form the batteries.