Sponsored

Cold Air Intakes are a waste

WaterDR

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2020 Overland
Vehicle Showcase
I have been very skeptical with CAIs. Why? Well, I have lots of experience with tuning mustangs and they are all smoke and mirrors. They just don’t work....and in most cases the gains are temporary because they can “trick” the engine into running more lean until the computer corrects it.

this is the most detailed study I have seen on a jeep. And it’s proof that they are bogus.

this guy did see a 5 degree improvement in air temps (which frankly is hardly anything) and say 1db increase in sounds he actually LOST HP.

The stock set up is very well matched!
Sponsored

DanW

First Name
Dan
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
21 JT Rubi, 18 JLU Rubi, 2008 JKU Rubi, 07 Vette
I have been very skeptical with CAIs. Why? Well, I have lots of experience with tuning mustangs and they are all smoke and mirrors. They just don’t work....and in most cases the gains are temporary because they can “trick” the engine into running more lean until the computer corrects it.

this is the most detailed study I have seen on a jeep. And it’s proof that they are bogus.

this guy did see a 5 degree improvement in air temps (which frankly is hardly anything) and say 1db increase in sounds he actually LOST HP.

The stock set up is very well matched!
A friend of mine is one of the Pentastar's original design engineers. He said they don't leave any horsepower on the table when they engineer these things. They want everything they can get in terms of power and efficiency. He said these companies engineering these things don't have even a tiny fraction of the R&D budget the design team had. They got every hp they could get out of that stock intake while making it nice, smooth, and quiet. It is absolutely optimized for this engine and application.