First Name
Sam
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
17 Mustang GT PP, 21 Gladiator?
Occupation
PLS
So, I'm changing jobs and giving up a company truck that I drive as my own. I've narrowed down my replacement choice to either a Gladiator or a Ranger. I'm a huge fan of the Ranger, but the Jeep is looking like a strong contender.

I have no Jeep experience, other than my wife's 2016 Cherokee, which I don't really consider a Jeep. I maen, it's a Jeep, but a Jeep Jeep, if you know what I mean.

The Gladiator seems like a bad ass truck. We drove a Sport S yesterday. It looked like it had highway cruiser tires on it, not a A/T or M/T. I though it rode nice. We took the front top pieces off, and wow, what fun!

What do I need to know about the Gladiator that would bother a new Jeep owner? I don't know what I don't know.

We're looking at a Mojave for $45K vs the Sport S for $42. Seems like a huge jump in trim level for just a few grand. The ultimate goal is this will be my dd, most of the time. I do plan on some off-road action. Trails and such. No dune jumping, no mud bogging, just fun stuff. Really nice days, the wife will probably drive it and I'll drive my 'stang.

I guess biggest questions are:

1) Is $42K a good deal on a Sport S?

2) Would the Mojave be the better deal, knowing I most likely won't ever use it to it's full potential. I do like nice vehicles.

3) If I went with the S, I'd want to do wheels and tires asap. Where's a good aftermarket spot for wheels, and what's the most reasonable tire size? 33s, 35s?

While a noob to Jeep, I'm not a noob to mods or wrenching (not saying I'm any good at it, if it can go wtong during a mod, it will most def happen to me). Former rides: '53 Chevy Deluxe 5 window pickup, 72, 67, 66, and 71 Chevelles, 67 Fairlane, and currently a '17 Mustang that sees the occasional trip to the track. I just want to make the most informed purchase I can.

Thanks
Sponsored

NachoRuby

First Name
Chad
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)