Sponsored

Discussion: Base Gladiator Sport vs Tacoma Off Road

Jeepers Creepers

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
Focus ST
Hey guys, been a lurker for some time but now getting closer to actually buying a truck, I could use some advice. In terms of tech and capability, what are your thoughts on the base Gladiator Sport compared to the Tacoma Off-Road for light duty off roading/trails (light crawling, snow, small stream crossings; no moab, no fording, etc)?

I'm new to the off road scene but I'm excited to start. I wish I could spring for the Rubicon but I'm headed into the military and a massive pay cut :whew: soo my options are limited. I reallly want a JT but if I can get well-optioned Tacoma that can do the job for significantly less than a base glad, I don't know...
Sponsored

hoch

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
JT
Hey guys, been a lurker for some time but now getting closer to actually buying a truck, I could use some advice. In terms of tech and capability, what are your thoughts on the base Gladiator Sport compared to the Tacoma Off-Road for light duty off roading/trails (light crawling, snow, small stream crossings; no moab, no fording, etc)?

I'm new to the off road scene but I'm excited to start. I wish I could spring for the Rubicon but I'm headed into the military and a massive pay cut :whew: soo my options are limited. I reallly want a JT but if I can get well-optioned Tacoma that can do the job for significantly less than a base glad, I don't know...
I've had and currently have a Tacoma Off Road. For what you're doing, any 4WD or even a Subaru would do just fine. Don't get caught up on all the off-road gizmos. I ran some tough trails in the Tacoma without having to engage the locker or ATRAC. Just good ol' Low Range and good set of tires, you can get through 95% of the trails out there.

Oilburner

First Name
Tim
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
1982 Scrambler, 1969 Wagoneer, 2022 JTR Ecodiesel
Welcome & THANKS in advance for your service.