Sponsored

Do I want side steps? Rock Rails? Sliders?

surge101

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2020 Jeep Gladiator Sport S
Hey guys.

So I'm new to this whole off-road truck thing. I quickly realized on my Sport S, that I may want some sort of side step as I think my bolsters are going to take some abuse getting out of the truck... I was also thinking when I start getting the truck ready for off-roading, I may not want to get something that hinders off-road ability. I'm thinking anything that extends beyond the frame would be bad, so anything with extending steps would be a no. So what can I get that would provide a place to step for a second to not put so much weight on my seat bolsters getting out, also protect from rocks/etc when off-roading and not hinder the trucks offroad ability at all?
Sponsored

Commodus

First Name
Buck
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
Hydro Blue Gladiator, BMW X3
Occupation
Retired
Vehicle Showcase
Hey guys.

So I'm new to this whole off-road truck thing. I quickly realized on my Sport S, that I may want some sort of side step as I think my bolsters are going to take some abuse getting out of the truck... I was also thinking when I start getting the truck ready for off-roading, I may not want to get something that hinders off-road ability. I'm thinking anything that extends beyond the frame would be bad, so anything with extending steps would be a no. So what can I get that would provide a place to step for a second to not put so much weight on my seat bolsters getting out, also protect from rocks/etc when off-roading and not hinder the trucks offroad ability at all?
You will soon learn to use your steering wheel to help get in and unless you lift over 3 inches that is all you use. If you need for passengers I like the mopar wide rock rails, there are also some aftermarket that are wide enough to use as a step without dropping below frame height

OP
OP
surge101

surge101

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)