Sponsored

Future JT diesel Rubicon owner with questions.

2TH MVR

First Name
Joe
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
21 JTRD. Audi A7, Alfa Romeo 4C
Occupation
Orthodontist
So. I've been reading so much here on the forums. Amazing amount of info. I'm new to Jeep, but not 4X4 trucks with lifts. I'm set on ordering a new or finding a new Rubicon diesel. A few questions. TIA.

1st off. This build is going to be for light duty, easy trails, snow in Flagstaff, desert washes, etc. etc. not necessarily heavy duty rock climbing. Trips to Home Depot, Costco, etc.

1. I want to place 37's on the JT. I've read about the mopar 2 inch and other similar lifts (3 1/2). 2 inches doesn't seem like alot. 3 1/2 seems to make more sense. But I'm considering the value of the warrantied 2 inch lift. Is it worth it? btw .... the JT needs to be able to fit in my garage. Typical 82 inch opening. Also ...not a big fan of "stuffed" tires under the fenders. Looking at warranty, pricing, looks and function and ..... it needs to fit in my garage lol.

2. Regearing? Seems like with the diesel and 37's .... no regearing is necessary? I am not going to tow anything. I'm in the Phx area. Mostly flat.

3. 17's vs 20 inch wheels? I get it. 17s give you more side wall protection. I'm drawn to the 20's. Is there any downsides to the 20's besides costing more? Again ... no heavy rock crawling for me. Mostly pavement and light desert stuff.

4. Lastly. If I choose to go with a 3 1/2 lift. Anyone know a reputable 4X4 shop in the Phoenix area?

Thanks again. Awesome forum. Hoping to get this JT before the end of this year.
Sponsored

Rubi-Zero

First Name
John
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2021 JT, 2020 JLUR, S5
first of all welcome.