Sponsored

Help a newbie out with a winch question - which one?

Winch Choice for a newbie

• Total voters
  • Poll closed .

BamaJeepTruck

Banned
Banned
First Name
Reinhardt
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2020 Jeep Gladiator Sport S
  • Banned
So I am completely new at off-roading and don't have anyone currently to hit some trails with so I'd like the backup of having a winch for self recovery. I am looking towards a Warn VR EVO but have a some questions. I obviously don't want to burn money, but I also know buy once cry once. A Warn 8,000 pound steel cable is on Quadratec for $504, upgrade to synthetic line and it jumps to $704. The same line Warn 10k winch with steel line is $579 or $766 with synthetic. Question is for someone who rarely will use it, is the 8k adequate? Also is the synthetic line really worth that initial investment? I'm leaning towards the 10k steel but I'm a man who can admit his shortcomings and I know y'all can give much better insight. I would consider other brands, but I don't want to be the fool paying MPG's to cart around an 80 lb brick on my front bumper only to have it fail the one time I actually need it. Any and all opinions welcome. Thanks. Poll open for 10 days.
Sponsored

BAT

First Name
Blaine
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
Jeep Gladiator Sport S Max Tow Sting Grey