Sponsored

How hard is it to install Rubi springs/shocks?

Alans17

First Name
Alan
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
Gladiator Sport S Max Tow
I got a quote from my mechanic to install a lift for $600. And by install a lift, I mean upgrade my Sport S with Rubicon springs and shocks. I’m adding levelers in the front and back which come with instructions.

I haven’t shopped around but I suspect that’s fair. But I’m trying to save money. Is this something I could do myself?

I have no prior experience or specialty tools, but I do have a pretty complete wrench set. And I’m not a total idiot.
Sponsored

OP
OP
Alans17

Alans17

First Name
Alan
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
I read through general instructions online and it doesn’t seem particularly complicated. I’d just need some jack stands and a torque wrench. That’s $100 and I get to keep the tools. Is there level of skill involved that I’m missing or is it mostly a matter of tools and time?

MainePure

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2023 Gladiator Rubicon
Occupation
Water Boss
I did the Rubicon spring and shock swap in 3hrs with a floor jack and a jack stand. It's very easy. My dealership quoted 6.5hrs @$740. Sure glad I did it myself.

OP
OP
Alans17

Alans17

First Name
Alan
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
I did the Rubicon spring and shock swap in 3hrs with a floor jack and a jack stand. It's very easy. My dealership quoted 6.5hrs @$740. Sure glad I did it myself.
What’s your prior experience level?

Jeeperjamie

First Name
Jamie
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2020 jeep gladiator
Occupation
Weyerhaeuser
Vehicle Showcase
Did mine in the driveway, took about a hour and a half with two floor jacks. It's pretty easy to do, was my first time attempting to install springs. Since then I've helped my brother in law do his jeep and another guy do his.