Not open for further replies.

Tortooga Custom Works

First Name
Ralph
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2020 Jeep Gladator Launch Edition | 2017 Jeep Grand Cherokee Limited
I went to take the roof off, touched this and it broke.

It's the passenger side bus bar for the rear window defroster on the hardtop.
I think I just need to resolder it on.

IMG_0795.JPG

EDIT 2019-08-06:
I tried two different kits to fix this, the first was from PepBoys and is readily available. It is the Permatex 09117 Complete Rear Window Defogger Repair Kit. It has bits to fix even the lines on the defroster.
The issue with this kit is that the activator is just a wipe. You can't get enough onto an area - I feel. I'm not a pro.
Anyway, I followed the instructions, but within about 6 hours it had separated again.

Then I found this kit, which is only has liquid activator in a vial and the conductive epoxy.
https://www.etrailer.com/Tools/Loctite/LT21351.html

This kit worked perfectly because I was able to actually "apply" the activator exactly where I needed it.
The epoxy got a strong hold, and I think even more of a hold than from the factory.

All is well. It works again!
Sponsored

Last edited:

Hootbro

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2022 Gladiator Rubicon

SleepyJeep

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
Mini Cooper S, Firecracker Red Gladiator LE
Lot of suggestions on that thread but as @Hootbro said looks like they use some kinda epoxy conductive glue that doesn't always work LOL. Maybe, you are better off just soldering it. I just feel like going to the dealership to get the entire rear window replaced for that is kinda too much.

OP
OP
Tortooga Custom Works

Tortooga Custom Works

First Name
Ralph
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
oh wow. I didn't even think to check the jl forum.

I'm going to just try and solder tonight. The stuff on it looks like solder, so i'm going to try heating that up and sticking it back on.

OP
OP
Tortooga Custom Works

Tortooga Custom Works

First Name