I want to trade my F150 for a Gladiator

s1000pre

First Name
Stewart
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2019 Wrangler JLU Sahara, 2019 F150 Limited
I am a driver of a 2019 F150 Limited 450hp/515ft.lb. 3.55 rear axle. My wife drives a 2019 Wrangler Sahara Unlimited, which I love to drive. I would do anything to replace my F150 with a Gladiator.
Specs: From what I can find online, the Gladiator's curb weight exceeds the F150's. My Limited has a useful payload of 1,280lbs, and a gladiator sport is 1,600. Gladiator has a 3.6 liter, F150 has 3.5 liter H.O. Ecoboost.
Dilemma, I tow a 6,600lb. Airstream, 7,700 lbs. fully loaded. I can see the obvious issue being power. My thought would be to add a Hamburger supercharger to the Gladiator. Other than the F150 having two more gears and more girth. The supercharger makes both vehicles somewhat comparable. I would also consider upgrading the Gladiator's brakes if necessary. Upgrading the seats to something more comfortable will be required as well.
I have already purchased a Hensley Arrow hitch for my F150. For those of you who are not familiar, a Hensley eliminates the pivot point of the hitch ball. It makes it impossible for the trailer to manipulate the tow vehicle.
I average 6,000 miles towing.
Is the F150 beefier? Frame, drivetrain, rear end, axles, etc?
Does this sound like an impossibility?
I'm trying to compare the two online and came across an episode of TFL. It was a tug of war with the Gladiator v.s. F250. What are they thinking? Could they not get their hands on an F150. I would like to see that comparison.
Sponsored

foo.c

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2021 JTR, 2021 Corvette
7700 is slightly above the max tow spec for the Gladiator. The supercharger won't change the rating and technically counts against you since it adds weight.

OP
OP

s1000pre

First Name
Stewart
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2019 Wrangler JLU Sahara, 2019 F150 Limited