Sponsored

Idea: Wire a Dash Cam "Parking Mode" to an Aux Switch?

cafecito

First Name
Lucas
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2021 Gladiator Mojave, Granite Crystal
Occupation
Corporate Tool
So, if this is completely stupid, forgive me - I'm confident enough to change a lightswitch or flip a tripped breaker back on, but that's about it. I'm no electrician, nor am I a mechanic.

I've been researching dash cams recently, and I really hate the idea that all of them rely on battery power to run their "Parking Mode" (recording based on motion and/or impacts to the vehicle). I know they don't drain the battery that badly these days, but the thought of having a camera monitoring the interior of my garage just irks me to no end. So here's my idea...

Dash cam hardwire kits come with two wires (not counting the ground, obviously) - one that requires power only when the vehicle is on (ACC / accessory power), and one that requires constant power (for parking mode).

What if I were to wire the ACC cable directly to the fuse box, as intended, and the constant wire (for parking mode) to one of the AUX switches? The idea is that if I park in a public place, I can press the AUX button to turn parking mode on, but if I'm just parked at home for days on end, I can turn it off without having to pull the power cable from the camera.

Here's some expert level artistry to illustrate what I'm thinking:

Jeep Gladiator Idea: Wire a Dash Cam "Parking Mode" to an Aux Switch? 1643760653928

If this is theoretically possible, I have a couple questions...

1. I know that a dash cam wouldn't require the high amperage from AUX 1 or 2, but would there be any potential issue(s) connecting a dash cam hardwire line to an AUX wire? A simple crimp and heat shrink connector should do the trick, right?