First Name
Robert
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
Gladiator
Occupation
Fabricator by trade/ Maintenance Mechanic
Saw a couple of posts in old threads that asked the same question. No definitive answer. So does anybody have any solid answer? Its a Sport S EcoDiesel. Stock bumpers. I did get a set of Rubi take off rock rails. Are they strong enough for lift points? Real world use and pictures would be helpful.
Sponsored

texanjeeper

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2020 Gladiator Sport-S Granite Crystal Metallic
Occupation
I.T.
I'm not sure I would trust the rock rails for 2 tons plus. The manual shows the jack points and I'd stick to those unless there is a reason you can't use those.

OP
OP
Free2roam

Free2roam

First Name
Robert
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
Gladiator
Occupation

Sponsored

Jeepin' John

First Name
John
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
'20 JT Sport S
Occupation
Structural Engineer
while you'd have to get creative with some strap setups for minor/light vertical lifts, i primarily carry mine to use as a come-along instead of having a winch. The hi-lift can pull as well as lift. Obviously not as good as a winch, but better than nothing for something inexpensive and relatively lightweight

rharr

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
21 JTRD 3" RKK lift, (former) 95 XJ 5sp 8" lift
I'm not sure I would trust the rock rails for 2 tons plus. The manual shows the jack points and I'd stick to those unless there is a reason you can't use those.
some times out in the dirt you don't get a choice of where you jack. You have to some times pick between a known soft spot and a maybe hard spot. The rock rails are a most likely hard spot if option A and B don't exist.

And generally speaking hi-lifts are sketchy as hell to use and always seem to be on the edge of losing balance.

Next bumper I get i am going to make sure to cut out some hi-lift notches.

http://i640.photobucket.com/albums/uu121/unlimicon/cutout3.jpg