Off Road Pages: Lat & Long Not Displaying

bigbeerdrinker

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 23, 2019
Messages
78
Reaction score
41
Location
Glen Burnie, MD
Vehicle(s)
2011 JKU Sahara, 2014 Grand Cherokee Overland, 2020 Jeep Gladiator Rubicon
So when I go into Off Road Pages my latitude and longitude do not show up on the 8.4" screen. It populates correctly if I use the on board gps. Do I have to be in 4H to activate it or should it be populating every time I go into Off Road Pages?



Advertisement


 

Aero_JT

Active Member
First Name
Bosco
Joined
Oct 24, 2019
Messages
27
Reaction score
53
Location
Toronto
Vehicle(s)
2020 Gladiator Overland, 2011 Acadia SLT AWD, 1997 Saab 9000 Aero
I have an Overland and across all the Off Road Pages ("Drivetrain", "Accessory Gauges", and "Pitch & Roll"), the Lat and Long details are displayed in the middle of the bar at the bottom. This has worked under both 2H and 4H (haven't checked for N or 4L though).
 

ShadowsPapa

Well-Known Member
First Name
Bill
Joined
Oct 12, 2019
Messages
2,976
Reaction score
2,055
Location
Runnells, Iowa
Vehicle(s)
2020 JT Overland; 2018 Grand Cherokee; 2004 Grand Cherokee Special Edition; 1970 Javelin(sold); 1973 Javelin; 1982 Eagle SX4
Occupation
Retired auto tech, frmr gov't ntwrk security admin
Vehicle Showcase
3
I have an Overland and across all the Off Road Pages ("Drivetrain", "Accessory Gauges", and "Pitch & Roll"), the Lat and Long details are displayed in the middle of the bar at the bottom. This has worked under both 2H and 4H (haven't checked for N or 4L though).
Same here.
 
OP

bigbeerdrinker

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 23, 2019
Messages
78
Reaction score
41
Location
Glen Burnie, MD
Vehicle(s)
2011 JKU Sahara, 2014 Grand Cherokee Overland, 2020 Jeep Gladiator Rubicon
  • Thread starter
  • Thread Starter
  • #4
This is what I am seeing on my Off Road Pages. As you can see the Lat and Long are blank. @JeepCares do you have any suggestions?

IMG_20200127_174734.jpg
 

ShadowsPapa

Well-Known Member
First Name
Bill
Joined
Oct 12, 2019
Messages
2,976
Reaction score
2,055
Location
Runnells, Iowa
Vehicle(s)
2020 JT Overland; 2018 Grand Cherokee; 2004 Grand Cherokee Special Edition; 1970 Javelin(sold); 1973 Javelin; 1982 Eagle SX4
Occupation
Retired auto tech, frmr gov't ntwrk security admin
Vehicle Showcase
3
This is what I am seeing on my Off Road Pages. As you can see the Lat and Long are blank. @JeepCares do you have any suggestions?

IMG_20200127_174734.jpg
Doesn't it have to be running?
Yours is obviously shut down because of the no oil pressure and battery voltage under 12.6 volts.

OR does it show that even if RUNNING?
 
OP

bigbeerdrinker

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 23, 2019
Messages
78
Reaction score
41
Location
Glen Burnie, MD
Vehicle(s)
2011 JKU Sahara, 2014 Grand Cherokee Overland, 2020 Jeep Gladiator Rubicon
  • Thread starter
  • Thread Starter
  • #6
Yeah I kept on forgetting to take a picture so I took one last night parked. It shows the same even while running...I tried it on the way home while driving. It has never shown since I purchased it in September.
 

ShadowsPapa

Well-Known Member
First Name
Bill
Joined
Oct 12, 2019
Messages
2,976
Reaction score
2,055
Location
Runnells, Iowa
Vehicle(s)
2020 JT Overland; 2018 Grand Cherokee; 2004 Grand Cherokee Special Edition; 1970 Javelin(sold); 1973 Javelin; 1982 Eagle SX4
Occupation
Retired auto tech, frmr gov't ntwrk security admin
Vehicle Showcase
3
Yeah I kept on forgetting to take a picture so I took one last night parked. It shows the same even while running...I tried it on the way home while driving. It has never shown since I purchased it in September.
Makes sense - something DEFINITELY not right with those all being blank like that. Mine is populated and keeps updating live as I drive. LAT and LONG and ELEV all change as I drive (elevation changes the most quickly - that's really fun to watch as it's like 926 a quarter mile from home and 816 when I cross the creek at the edge of our property then back to 832 at our driveway or something like that then back down several feet as I get to my shop.
(Standing in our kitchen I'm looking out at the roof of my JT, about even with the bottom of the rain gutters of my shop which stands about 27' high to the peak so I get to watch that altitude change just driving around our yard!)
 

Oscar Indy

Staff member
Moderator
First Name
Oscar
Joined
Aug 21, 2019
Messages
1,131
Reaction score
1,072
Location
Utah
Website
offmapoverland.com
Vehicle(s)
JTR
Looks like you aren't getting sat signal.
Does your nav work?
 

ShadowsPapa

Well-Known Member
First Name
Bill
Joined
Oct 12, 2019
Messages
2,976
Reaction score
2,055
Location
Runnells, Iowa
Vehicle(s)
2020 JT Overland; 2018 Grand Cherokee; 2004 Grand Cherokee Special Edition; 1970 Javelin(sold); 1973 Javelin; 1982 Eagle SX4
Occupation
Retired auto tech, frmr gov't ntwrk security admin
Vehicle Showcase
3
Looks like you aren't getting sat signal.
Does your nav work?
That would be the next question - have NAV display a map, then plug in a location and see if it will route you there.
 
OP

bigbeerdrinker

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 23, 2019
Messages
78
Reaction score
41
Location
Glen Burnie, MD
Vehicle(s)
2011 JKU Sahara, 2014 Grand Cherokee Overland, 2020 Jeep Gladiator Rubicon
  • Thread starter
  • Thread Starter
  • #10
Yes the nav works just fine. I also get lat and long within the builtin gps.
 

Oscar Indy

Staff member
Moderator
First Name
Oscar
Joined
Aug 21, 2019
Messages
1,131
Reaction score
1,072
Location
Utah
Website
offmapoverland.com
Vehicle(s)
JTR
Yes the nav works just fine. I also get lat and long within the builtin gps.
Dealer trip then.
In my taco there were 2 sat inputs and one wasn't plugged in. My nav would work but my clock wouldn't. You may have a loose connection. Bad antenna or a bad radio.
 
OP

bigbeerdrinker

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 23, 2019
Messages
78
Reaction score
41
Location
Glen Burnie, MD
Vehicle(s)
2011 JKU Sahara, 2014 Grand Cherokee Overland, 2020 Jeep Gladiator Rubicon
  • Thread starter
  • Thread Starter
  • #12
So last week I was on a road trip ti NJ for work. On my way home I wanted to see the additional gauges while on the highway in OffRoad Pages. Wouldn't you know the Lat & Long was populated and updating. I live in MD, and on I83 south and a couple of miles after I crossed the MD line it disappeared, and hasn't worked since. .I know it works, but I have never seen it work in my area.

I am wondering if this is a geographical issue. Maybe because I am so close to D.C. that it won't work...I don't know I am just guessing. When I get my oil changed I will have the dealership look into it as well as upgrade my Jeep for the STFA.

@JeepCares have you heard of any issues in the MD area with the Lat & Long not showing in the OffRoad Pages?
 

LaterGator

Active Member
Joined
Nov 12, 2019
Messages
34
Reaction score
39
Location
77058
Vehicle(s)
Gator Gladiator
I have seen my lat/long only work once. The rest of the time, they have been empty. I regularly use the offroad pages to monitor my guages.
 

Nuttall

Member
First Name
Chris
Joined
Mar 9, 2020
Messages
15
Reaction score
8
Location
Newport News, Va
Vehicle(s)
2020 Jeep Gladiator Rubicon, 2015 Jeep Cherokee, 2006 Harley VRSCR
Occupation
Construction
Did you ever figure out if it was a geographical issue @bigbeerdrinker? I just got my Rubicon and am having the same issue. Navigation works fine but the lat/long and altitude just stay blank. I'm a few hours east of DC.
 

LaterGator

Active Member
Joined
Nov 12, 2019
Messages
34
Reaction score
39
Location
77058
Vehicle(s)
Gator Gladiator
Might be geographical. I was in Dallas and the lat/long worked until I got back within 100 miles or so of Houston and then it stopped again. Didn't seem to matter if I was using the Nav screens or not.
 

                           
























































Top