Sponsored

Regear Question (yes I've read through the forums)

Gren71

First Name
Matt
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
Jeep JT sports S Max Tow (Sold) '23 Ram 1500
Occupation
Magician
Vehicle Showcase
Like I said..ive read through the forums and a mess of threads..watched a bunch of videos...and so on. Im still by no means an expert here.

I can't seem to find a consensus on what is worthwhile for a JTMT with daily driving..a LOT of opinions. So I am looking for more opinion I suppose.

I have a JTMT and use it for %90 daily driving, some beach, and towing a travel trailer that weighs 6,000ish loaded. 285/75/17 AT tires..I MAY go to 315s at some point, but not likely. Im pretty content with my current size and weight. I see 8th while driving on the highway, but only after a recent TCM update from my dealer. I can pull my unloaded trailer okay (4,500lbs), but the JTMT still seems to struggle a bit with towing. My goal is to get a little more time in 8th with daily driving and have an easier experience towing.

Im pretty sure Im going to do 4.56s. From what Ive read they will keep me near my current RPM range but allow me more time in 8th during normal driving, and give me more power while towing.

I have a local jeep guy who will be doing the work for me so the cost should be comparable to many others on the forum.

Am I completely wrong here?
Sponsored

KurtP

First Name
Kurt
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
S/C Mojave
Occupation
Only Fans Content Creator
I think 4.56 with that load and trailer is right on the money. I’d give some thought to if you will step up to 315/35’s; because if you do, 4.88 might be where you want to end up with all that.

$.02

CivilJeep

First Name
James
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2022 Gladiator Diesel, 2022 4XE
Occupation
Engineer
Like I said..ive read through the forums and a mess of threads..watched a bunch of videos...and so on. Im still by no means an expert here.