Review and comparison: Towing my TJ with the JT, max towing the Overland

MrJeep

First Name
Al
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2004 Rubicon, 2020 Gobi JT Overland
So I've been wheeling for going on 20 years or so and last year was the first year I trailered my TJ to go wheeling. Now I can't go back.
All the stress is off: if you break something, tow it home and fix it.

I didn't buy the JT to trailer the TJ, but knew it would be nice if it did.
Today I spent $60 at Uhaul just to see how it would do compared to my usual setup and help me decide what to tow it with to the few trips we have planned this summer.
The UHaul trailer is a little over 2000# and the TJ is about 3800# which puts it right at max towing for an Automatic Overland.
My usual tow rig is my wife's 2013 LR4, which has a 7500# tow capacity so we are well within that.
Jeep Gladiator Review and comparison: Towing my TJ with the JT, max towing the Overland 20200612_140428
Jeep Gladiator Review and comparison: Towing my TJ with the JT, max towing the Overland 20200612_142115

So which would I rather tow with? Pretty hands down the Gladiator, even at max weight.
The gladiator had better brakes (discounting the trailers surge brakes) and better sway control and feel. It just felt safer. It also seemed to help that the trailer seemed further back there. The trailer seems as it is way too close to the back of the LR4.
The only place the LR4 trounced it was, as expected, acceleration and NVH. But you just can't compete with a 5L V8 on torque.

I was very surprised. I thought the LR4 would certainly win. Have a 6 hour trip coming up in July; we will be taking the Gladiator and a trailer that is about 500# or more lighter from a real trailer place nearby (one with real brakes!).
Hope this helps with information in the tribe here.
Sponsored

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2020 Jeep Gladiator Rubicon
Vehicle Showcase