Rock lights tapped to Bed Lights?

Mayhem 6

Active Member
First Name
Dan
Joined
Apr 14, 2020
Messages
33
Reaction score
33
Location
SE USA
Vehicle(s)
2020 JTR; 2020 JLUR; 2015 JKW; 2016 JKUR (Sold); 2014 JKSS (Sold); 2008 JKUR (Sold)
Seems simple enough, splice a set into the driver and passenger side bed lights. Should add the functionality of manually turning them on/off with the stock bed light switch and activation when you unlock/open doors, etc. The bed lights seem to run off a 30A fuse, should be more than enough for add a set of 6 LED rock lights.

Anyone running a similar setup? Any challenges in the wiring?



Advertisement



 

MrFahrenheit

Well-Known Member
First Name
Mike
Joined
Jan 6, 2020
Messages
152
Reaction score
190
Location
Minnesota
Vehicle(s)
2020 FC Red Gladiator Rubicon
Build Thread
Link
I would think you could splice in somewhere closer to the actual switch/fuse and use the signal from that to trigger a relay to power the lights too.
 

CWGrisw0ld

Well-Known Member
Joined
Aug 14, 2020
Messages
57
Reaction score
68
Location
Texas
Vehicle(s)
2008 Jeep JKU
Only issue with using bed lights is that unless you leave a door open, they auto turn off after a set period of time.
 

Mr._Bill

Well-Known Member
First Name
Bill
Joined
Jul 22, 2019
Messages
1,195
Reaction score
760
Location
North Las Vegas, NV
Vehicle(s)
2020 Jeep Gladiator Overland 2013 Nissan Leaf SV
Vehicle Showcase
1
Seems simple enough, splice a set into the driver and passenger side bed lights. Should add the functionality of manually turning them on/off with the stock bed light switch and activation when you unlock/open doors, etc. The bed lights seem to run off a 30A fuse, should be more than enough for add a set of 6 LED rock lights.

Anyone running a similar setup? Any challenges in the wiring?
The wiring for the bed lights is supposed to be accessible from underneath, so tapping into it should be easy. Unless the engine is running, they will be subject to the timer and won't stay on for very long. If connecting very many additional lights, using a relay would probably be a good idea.
 

Benbean66

Well-Known Member
First Name
Ben
Joined
Apr 29, 2019
Messages
378
Reaction score
393
Location
PA
Vehicle(s)
2010 Toyota Prius, '88 RHD YJ
Occupation
Railroad Division Supervisor
Vehicle Showcase
1
I tapped into the bed lights under the passenger side rocker panel, inside the vehicle. All the wires for the rear run thru there before they exit the vehicle.
 

Climbhigh

Well-Known Member
First Name
Bryan
Joined
Aug 8, 2019
Messages
150
Reaction score
221
Location
PA
Vehicle(s)
2020 Hydro Blue Jeep Gladiator Rubicon, 2018 Western Star 4700 (knuckleboom) , International 4300 (Chip truck)
Occupation
Arborist

Climbhigh

Well-Known Member
First Name
Bryan
Joined
Aug 8, 2019
Messages
150
Reaction score
221
Location
PA
Vehicle(s)
2020 Hydro Blue Jeep Gladiator Rubicon, 2018 Western Star 4700 (knuckleboom) , International 4300 (Chip truck)
Occupation
Arborist
The bed lights stay on for as long as the button is activated, if the engine is on.

They turn on/off automatically with doors being opened or unlocked, with the engine off.

I plan on doing something along the lines of the link I posted above. Wired so the rock lights come on whenever the bed lights do (so they light up when unlocking and opening doors), but also wire them to aux switch so I can turn them on directly.
 
OP
Mayhem 6

Mayhem 6

Active Member
First Name
Dan
Joined
Apr 14, 2020
Messages
33
Reaction score
33
Location
SE USA
Vehicle(s)
2020 JTR; 2020 JLUR; 2015 JKW; 2016 JKUR (Sold); 2014 JKSS (Sold); 2008 JKUR (Sold)
  • Thread starter
  • Thread Starter
  • #8
The wiring for the bed lights is supposed to be accessible from underneath, so tapping into it should be easy. Unless the engine is running, they will be subject to the timer and won't stay on for very long. If connecting very many additional lights, using a relay would probably be a good idea.
This was the idea...like the functionality of the stock switch while engine on and timer for when engine isn't working. Can't imagine the added amp draw would require a relay...it'd be a total of 3A additional (Each at .5A).
 

Advertisement












Advertisement


Top