First Name
Tommy
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
'21 EcoDiesel Rubicon
Occupation
at a job
Getting ready to place an order for a '21 Diesel Rubi. I'm debating the safety packages in my head. Part of me thinks it's a waste of money, especially given the insurance savings is only $89/yr for having them. Obviously it's hard to put a price on something that could save a life, especially that of my kids. However, I've been driving for nearly 30 years with never a serious accident.

On the face of it, the fact that these aren't standard options is pretty dumb given the price of the vehicles and such. I haven't compared to other midsize trucks because they aren't even a consideration, but wouldn't be surprised if most of them come with those standard.

I appreciate your thoughts.
Sponsored

jeepin48

First Name
Jake
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
JT Overland 3.0L
Occupation
Engineer
I held out on multiple "on lot" deals so I could get "Adaptive Cruise" with auto stop. Of course I had to order it. If the auto self stopping feature works just once it will likely pay for its self. If it even partially works it could save a life. I dont know if it will do too much for deer but maybe in the right circumstance. I also wanted adaptive cruise for better trailer towing ease. The only con I see is an expensive windshield that is EXTREMELY vulnerable to cracking. You may want a windshield protector. Clearly I say go for it.

JTBurns

First Name
Joe
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
Jeep Gladiator
I didn't get any extra safety items and don't regret it. Blind spot monitoring is nice, but check your mirrors and there are no blind spots with the roof off! I don't really like that feature that stops your vehicle if something crosses your path. Not sure if that's mandatory with something else like the front facing camera though.

DLAW

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
'95 Nissan Pathfinder, '08 Honda Civic, '12 Honda CR-V, '16 Honda Odyssey, 2021 JTR
Occupation
Predicting the future