Nate
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2020 Jeep Gladiator Sport S
Occupation
IT Manager
Hi,

My goal is to setup a solar panel to help run a mini fridge. The fridge I am looking at purchasing is 45 watts - I am hoping I can run a 50 watt solar panel to help keep my car battery near topped off - I am a bit new to electrical, so I am learning as I go and I am not sure 50 is enough, as I doubt I'll hit 50 based on where I live / camp along with the panel not giving 100%.

Why do I want to run a 50 watt panel? Size. I do not plan on having the panel attached to my vehicle 24/7, I would simply bring it out when we are stationary and plug it in. My goal would be to keep it stored when not camping.

Would a 50 watt panel help keep my car battery topped off, or would I need to go for a 100 watt?
Sponsored

bryanle1

First Name
Bryan
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2020 Gladiator Altitude
Vehicle Showcase
I'm assuming you won't be running the fridge all the time and only during trips? If you want to make it portable, why not run a portable battery pack? I did that on my recent trip, running a Dometic CFW40w, on a 768Wh portable battery, and it lasted the entire trip, 5 days.

OP
OP
NHyde

NHyde

First Name
Nate
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
Occupation
IT Manager
I'm assuming you won't be running the fridge all the time and only during trips? If you want to make it portable, why not run a portable battery pack? I did that on my recent trip, running a Dometic CFW40w, on a 768Wh portable battery, and it lasted the entire trip, 5 days.
Correct, only on trips.
I like the idea of a battery pack but a secondary battery is $400+ - a 50 watt solar panel and box is like $100

OP
OP
NHyde

NHyde

First Name
Nate
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
Occupation
IT Manager
Real life expect about 1/2 the rated output of a solar panel.
Thanks, and yeah, this is what my research is telling me too, looks like I need to go a little bigger.

Sponsored

Rokon

First Name
Bob
Threads