Sponsored

Steel or Synthetic

Drewellis93

First Name
Drew
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2011 Ford F-150 FX4, 2020 Jeep Gladiator Rubicon (on order)
I’m new to the winch game. Outside of the weight difference, what are the reasons to choose steel vs. synthetic or vice versa? Thanks in advance!
Sponsored

sass JT

Banned
Banned
First Name
Bryan
Threads
Reaction score
Website
youtube.com
Vehicle(s)
2020 Jeep Gladiator Rubicon
Build Thread
Link
Occupation
MWD
I’m new to the winch game. Outside of the weight difference, what are the reasons to choose steel vs. synthetic or vice versa? Thanks in advance!
my vote is synthetic. watch this video.

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
Vehicle Showcase
If you can afford it, go synthetic... I bought my winch new in 2006, and it's been sitting brand new in the box ever since. I bought it for an offroad project that I ended up scrapping the idea, and then later selling. So the winch sat unopened in the box in my shop for the last 14 years. I finally got to use it on my JTR. It has a steel cable, because back then (this is no lie) just purchasing a synthetic winch cable (cable only) cost as much as an entire new Warn winch with a steel cable...It was over $1,000 for just a synthetic cable to go on your existing winch...In some cases more.

Now with technology, they're pretty cheap.

Synthetic is lighter, more flexible, less damaging to your hands and trees, and doesn't rust. But, a steel winch cable is still more resilient to the elements, and less likely to become so damaged that it's rendered useless, than a synthetic cable, and still can be utilized if a couple of strands get broken or popped.

There are pros and cons to both. Steel cable winches are still cheaper by a LONG shot.

Incommando

First Name
Don
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
‘20 Sport max tow Sting-gray, ‘95 YJ