Brandon
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2021 Jeep Gladiator Rubicon
Occupation
General Manager
Hello All!

I’m new to the Jeep Gladiator Forums, and I just purchased a 2021 Jeep Gladiator Rubicon (in hydro blue), and I just wanted to see if another owner would be willing to test something for me.

Every time I accelerate to exactly 7MPH, after initially starting the truck, it makes a very subtle clunk noise. The thump seems to be felt from the driver’s footwell. This does not continue to occur after stops, after the auto-start/stop function runs, or any other time, other then after doing a full start of the truck. If I turn it off, restart it, and begin rolling forward, the subtle sound and clunk occurs at exactly 7MPH again.

Does anyone else observe this noise/clunk? If so, is this caused by some kind of normal startup procedure involving the powertrain? It’s obvious that it happens very deliberately, I just want to make sure that something isn’t functioning outside of spec on a truck with 300 miles on the clock.

I appreciate any feedback and/or observations you might be able to share! Thanks!
Sponsored

OldButStillJeeping

First Name
Eric
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2021 JT Mojave, '92 Jeep YJ, 2017 F250 4WD
Tailgate lock

Sponsored

Caspien

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2021 JTR, 2020 GC Trailhawk
Occupation
I.T. Architect
Happen to have a trailer hitch installed? I actually had a clunk that would happen around 11mph, and it took me a couple of days to figure it out.

(Mine was my hitch locking pin, holding my hitch cover in place.. it'd rotate and do a 'clunk'. After figuring it out, I just rotated it, so it would sit angled downward.. no more clunk for me :)

ShadowsPapa

First Name
Bill
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
'22 JTO, '23 JLU, '82 SX4, '73 P. Cardin Javelin
Occupation
Retired auto mechanic, frmr gov't ntwrk security admin
Vehicle Showcase
For us it's one of the neighbors finally letting loose of the truck & hitting the pavement.