Switches!! But where?

  1. ralphjjr

    ralphjjr Well-Known Member

    First Name:
    Ralph
    Vehicle(s):
    2014 Ford TC Titanium | 2017 Jeep Grand Cherokee Limited
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2018
    Location:
    Central NJ
    Posts:
    1,071
    Liked:
    951
    I’m planning to get an sPOD. Specifically the touchscreen.

    Anyone else thinking of switches / command center?

    Where are you thinking you will mount it?

    I’ve seen overhead, above the rear view mirror. There is some tech there, and I think some folks have an accessory that wraps around what’s there and let’s you put a bank of switches.

    I’ve also seen on the a-pillar, by the steering wheel and all the way at the top. That seems busy to me...

    I’m now thinking about the location of the factory auxiliary switches... I wonder if I don’t get them, if I can use the cubby to mount the sPOD somehow, but, would there be enough clearance from the shift lever (auto).

    Lots of questions. I need to go to the dealership to hangout in a JL rubicon again...
     
    5JeepsAz and steffen707 like this.
  2. steffen707

    steffen707 Well-Known Member

    Vehicle(s):
    2001 Jetta TDI RIP, 2010 Grand Caravan, 89' Civic SI, 2019 Pacifica Hybrid
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2018
    Location:
    Middle Wisconsin
    Posts:
    4,598
    Liked:
    3,749
    i think there are too many variables without actually having the JT in your posession. for now, just dream about what you'ld like to do.

    I don't know if the 4 switches that come with the Rubicon will be enough or not.
     
  3. homerun

    homerun Well-Known Member

    Vehicle(s):
    1996 XJ, 2004 Ford Ranger, 2013 Subaru Impreza, 1996 HD Springer Softtail, past jeep 1995 YJ
    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2017
    Location:
    Fort Collins, Colorado
    Posts:
    724
    Liked:
    843
    They don’t come with the Rubicon, you have to pony up for the auxiliary switch group. I bet you knew that, just clearing up any confusion for others. :like:
     
  4. steffen707

    steffen707 Well-Known Member

    Vehicle(s):
    2001 Jetta TDI RIP, 2010 Grand Caravan, 89' Civic SI, 2019 Pacifica Hybrid
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2018
    Location:
    Middle Wisconsin
    Posts:
    4,598
    Liked:
    3,749
    my bad, i for some reason forgot about this.

    lol.
     
  5. OP
    OP
    ralphjjr

    ralphjjr Well-Known Member

    First Name:
    Ralph
    Vehicle(s):
    2014 Ford TC Titanium | 2017 Jeep Grand Cherokee Limited
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2018
    Location:
    Central NJ
    Posts:
    1,071
    Liked:
    951
    Yes... dreaming I am...

    Right, the aux switches are an option. They won’t be enough for me. I need a minimum of 6 for what I’m planning...
    what I need to do is go measure, in a JL, is if the space between the shifter and the aux switches area, is enough for the sPOD touchscreen.

    ps some nice interior JL photos, which should help with planning:
    https://www.jlwranglerforums.com/forum/threads/jl-wrangler-interior-photos.1651/
     
    chrcal14 and steffen707 like this.
  6. blau iii

    blau iii Member

    First Name:
    nick
    Vehicle(s):
    2008 335i, 2014 X5
    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2018
    Location:
    pittsburgh, pa
    Posts:
    22
    Liked:
    12
    What is everyone's plans for switches? I'm likely going OEM pod and will use: Hood Lights, Rear Lights/Rock lights, Compressor, Air horn for mine. I wasn't planning on running my winch through a switch panel. Maybe putting a master kill switch for it somewhere in the engine. This is my first Jeep in 20 years, what else would I need to switch control?

    I'm also going to install a CB and Dash cam in short order but don't think either of those need a switch..
     
    5JeepsAz likes this.
  7. RedTRex

    RedTRex Well-Known Member

    First Name:
    Rick
    Vehicle(s):
    2013 JKU
    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2017
    Location:
    Jacksonville, FL
    Posts:
    1,409
    Liked:
    874
    Direct wire your winch and CB
     
  8. steffen707

    steffen707 Well-Known Member

    Vehicle(s):
    2001 Jetta TDI RIP, 2010 Grand Caravan, 89' Civic SI, 2019 Pacifica Hybrid
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2018
    Location:
    Middle Wisconsin
    Posts:
    4,598
    Liked:
    3,749
    Margarita maker?
     
    bangolia and blau iii like this.
  9. steffen707

    steffen707 Well-Known Member

    Vehicle(s):
    2001 Jetta TDI RIP, 2010 Grand Caravan, 89' Civic SI, 2019 Pacifica Hybrid
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2018
    Location:
    Middle Wisconsin
    Posts:
    4,598
    Liked:
    3,749
    basically anything that has its own switch you could hardwire, right?

    if your winch has a controller, or the CB has an on/off switch, why give it another switch.

    so lights, horn, rocket launcher, air over hydraulic le-man car style on-board vehicle jacks, license plate 007 flipper.


    i like the music to this one! Dracula!
     
  10. OP
    OP
    ralphjjr

    ralphjjr Well-Known Member

    First Name:
    Ralph
    Vehicle(s):
    2014 Ford TC Titanium | 2017 Jeep Grand Cherokee Limited
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2018
    Location:
    Central NJ
    Posts:
    1,071
    Liked:
    951
    kpohanka likes this.
  11. Toro34

    Toro34 Member

    First Name:
    Greg
    Vehicle(s):
    2009 JKU Sport, 2015 JK Sport
    Joined:
    May 24, 2019
    Location:
    Arizona
    Posts:
    7
    Liked:
    3
    @ralphjjr I have an SPod in my JK currently. My plan is to pull it and install in my JT.

    I'm going to upgrade to the touchscreen (currently I have the switches above the mirror) and use a RAM Mount 1" ball somewhere in the cab to mount it.

    There's a pretty nice mirror/RAM Mount combo made by CMM that attaches to the front grab bar (they actually have a few different mounts) I wont link it here, but Google should take you right to it
     
    beelzebot likes this.
  12. Toro34

    Toro34 Member

    First Name:
    Greg
    Vehicle(s):
    2009 JKU Sport, 2015 JK Sport
    Joined:
    May 24, 2019
    Location:
    Arizona
    Posts:
    7
    Liked:
    3
    i saw that yesterday SPOD posted exactly what i was talking about on their Instagram page! (3rd and 4th pics over)

     
  13. gsxr310

    gsxr310 Active Member

    First Name:
    Jonathan
    Vehicle(s):
    JLUR
    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2019
    Location:
    CA
    Posts:
    32
    Liked:
    31
    SPod also has a dash mount

    B2CCA748-CC91-4E69-BFAF-2C2709AB5675.jpeg
     
    TheITGuy likes this.
  14. SleepyJeep

    SleepyJeep Well-Known Member

    Vehicle(s):
    Mini Cooper S, Firecracker Red Gladiator LE
    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2019
    Location:
    MD
    Posts:
    184
    Liked:
    150
    I plan to get the sPOD too and I already got the 67 designs rail mounting system. They have one accessory for the sPOD. If it looks busy there, I have seen YT videos where people have mounted on top near the rear view mirror and I plan to do that.
     
  15. OP
    OP
    ralphjjr

    ralphjjr Well-Known Member

    First Name:
    Ralph
    Vehicle(s):
    2014 Ford TC Titanium | 2017 Jeep Grand Cherokee Limited
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2018
    Location:
    Central NJ
    Posts:
    1,071
    Liked:
    951
    The top near the rear view is where I want to mount it too... but there’s a lot going on up there in the JT... once I actually take delivery I’ll figure it out. I don’t like it on the a pillar, and I’m not so sure I want it right above the uconnect screen. I want to mount my phone there, and 3 screens in such close proximity will be too busy I think
     
Loading...

Share This Page