Sponsored

Test drove a new Jeep Wrangler

cdahl383

First Name
Carl
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2020 Jeep Wrangler Sport S, 2019 Ram 1500, 2015 Challenger Scat Pack, 1972 Chevy Nova
I'm planning on getting a new Jeep Wrangler soon and wanted to take one for a test drive. Went to the dealer last weekend and took a Sport Altitude out for a drive with the 2.0L turbo engine and automatic trans. My background is driving mostly muscle cars and trucks (Challengers, Chargers, Ram, S-10, Ranger, etc).

First impression getting into the seat was, wow! I feel like I'm in a little tank! Very cool feel inside. I like the short dash, abrupt windshield, flat hood, and square boxy feel of the inside.

Started it up and took off down the road. Immediately noticed much looser steering feel and much wind noise coming from around the windshield driver door area. I was sort of expecting this though based on what I read on here and other sites. I realize a Jeep Wrangler will not handle/steer like a Challenger Scat Pack. I had to correct the steering more often than in my car to keep it centered which was annoying at first, but within 5 minutes of driving and talking to the sales lady, I didn't even notice it anymore.

The ride was much smoother than I anticipated. I was expecting a very rough and bumpy ride based on how my sister in law's 2012 Jeep Wrangler 2 door felt, but apparently they have come a long way since then. The ride was very nice in my opinion for something that is a true 4x4 vehicle.

The cab seemed to have a lot of room, plenty of room in the back seat for my kids and plenty of room in the cargo area for luggage going on trips or carting the dog around.

The model I drove had the hard top and headliner, which is what I want to order. It cut down on the whiteness of the interior from the hardtop to an extent and I'm sure it dampens road noise and retains heat/cool air better as well.