Pete
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2013 Rubicon JKU, 2021 Gladiator Mojave
Build Thread
Link
Vehicle Showcase
Blue Babe...appropriately named after Paul Bunyan's Ox.

I consider myself to be. a"rocklander." My wife and I take months long trips mainly off the beaten path, however I just can't seem to pass up the opportunity to crawl over things.

I've been a die hard JKU driver for years (I still have my 2013 Hemi swapped Rubicon w/106k miles on it) so when the Gladiator 1st came out I took one look at it and said "pass." Watching builds progress on Youtube and watching people try and wheel them in places like Moab pretty much reinforced my attitude.

That was all well and good until my wife decided it was time to upgrade our off-road teardrop to a bigger version with a weight that was well over the JK's 3500 towing limit. Suddenly I was looking at Gladiators with a different view.

Flash forward a year. I settled on a Mojave because I wanted the reinforced frame and liked the trim level better than the Rubicon. Knowing I was going to drop a Hemi in it, replace axles etc it really came down to the frame and trim....and the hood. A Mojave definitely has the better hood ;)

I found what I wanted already built and ready to ship this time last year and took delivery in Jan 2022. Lots to catch up in this thread. Some brilliant moves and some real disasters....

Jeep Gladiator The Blue Babe Build - 2021 HEMI 392 Swapped Mojave IMG_9934
Sponsored

Last edited:
OP
OP
peteinaustin

peteinaustin

First Name
Pete
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
Build Thread
Link
Vehicle Showcase
Planning ahead and getting the easy stuff done

As soon as I finalized BB's order I started ordering parts...especially given how long the lead time was going to be. I knew up front that I wanted to do the Hemi swap but knew that would be later in the year. My plan was to go ahead and get the lift, axles and wheels done during the winter and spend some time getting used to how BB drove offroad.