Sponsored

Weight distribution hitch - do I need this?!?

usc4duke

First Name
Brian
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
350z; 2020 Jeep Gladiator Rubicon
I just bought a 3900 pound dry weight single axle travel trailer. I have a JT Rubicon, no lift, stock wheels. Do I need a weight distribution hitch to tow? Stupid question - does this WDH go on the JT or the trailer? Appreciate the help in advance!
Sponsored

Jaxmax

First Name
Jack
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
Jeeps....... 2021 Mojave , 2019 Wrangler
Occupation
Electrical Manager
You should use one, and it slips into the receiver hitch on the jeep and has brackets, attachted to the trailer frame , single axle trailers seem to have more need for a WDH.

CrazyCooter

First Name
Tony
Threads
Reaction score
Website
www.overlandvehicledynamics.com
Vehicle(s)
1991 JEEP YJ, 2021 JTR Ecodiesel
Occupation
Specialty Off Road Shop Owner
I have zero experience towing with a JT, but have one on the way and looking into a small single axle travel trailer.

I would think by just numbers alone weight distribution wouldn't be needed, but sway control would be a must.

XJADDICTION

Banned
Banned
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2020 JT SS Max Tow, 2005 WK Hemi, 2013 Mustang GT
Occupation
Surgical CSFA
I just towed a Jeep YJ on a 2500lb U-Haul trailer (the old steel one) total weight was around 5500-6000 lbs.

This is how close the trailer tongue was to the ground. tge Max Tow JT has quite the squat, estimated tongue wt about 5-600 lbs. load leveling hitch would have been much better

79158249-BF9D-4F5B-B869-24911C054DA4.jpeg

CrazyCooter

First Name
Tony
Threads
Reaction score
Website
www.overlandvehicledynamics.com
Vehicle(s)
1991 JEEP YJ, 2021 JTR Ecodiesel
Occupation
Specialty Off Road Shop Owner
I just towed a Jeep YJ on a 2500lb U-Haul trailer (the old steel one) total weight was around 5500-6000 lbs.