First Name
Robert
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
Gladiator
Occupation
Fabricator by trade/ Maintenance Mechanic
Started diesel. Drove down the street. Diesel died. Any idea what oil pressure a diesel is supposed to run at. When I tried to restart. The oil pressure read nothing. 4500ish miles :swear::swear::swear::angry:
Sponsored

OP
OP
Free2roam

Free2roam

First Name
Robert
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
Gladiator
Occupation
Started diesel. Drove down the street. Diesel died. Any idea what oil pressure a diesel is supposed to run at. When I tried to restart. The oil pressure read nothing. 4500ish miles :swear::swear::swear::angry:
Little longer video of me trying to start it back up.

hazards280

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
21' Mojave, 19' Giulia, 64' Cobra
The sound does come across as a rod knock at first, but... take a listen to the attached video below. I owned a JL Diesel before buying my Mojave and recalled someone having a similar situation. In their case it was a failed clamp from the cat to the transmission causing a rattle sound. The two videos sounds very similar.

To answer your question about oil pressure. I personally encountered an issue where my JL would start up and show zero oil pressure. I immediately shut it off, did my checks and restarted it, but the problem immediately went away and oil pressure was great. I asked around and folks mentioned that the EcoDiesel doesn't have a traditional oil pressure sensor, and instead calculated figure (don't ask me how). At times, the sensor it uses can be faulty from the factory and cause misreads. Before taking it to the dealer, I checked my oil again and found I was a 1/2 quart low, added oil, and it never came back for the 10k additional miles I drove it.

Forum Post: https://www.jlwranglerforums.com/forum/threads/2021-eco-diesel-suddenly-much-louder.61174/

rharr

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
21 JTRD 3" RKK lift, (former) 95 XJ 5sp 8" lift