First “off road” trip in my Rubicon

TheDerb

First Name
Mike
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2023 Rubicon
I went to Windrock park today in my ‘23 Gladiator Rubicon. I went with no recovery gear, and enough tools to fix any tire issues- bottle jack, regular jack, cordless impact drill and full set of impact bits. Also an Air compressor and a battery powered air pump. My goal was simply to see what a Rubicon could handle without any modifications at all.

I was very clear with the front desk people at the general store that I just wanted something easy, because I am new to this. They suggested going on an easy/moderate 3 hour 50 mile trail. I didnt want to do 50 miles, so based on a private conversation with an acquaintance, I chose trail G40 and G20.

I aired down to 25 psi. logic behind this being that it would prevent any punctures in the tires, while keeping in mind I don’t really need to be at 15 psi for easy trails.

i began the trip by locking into 4L… you really need to go slow for that! I “grinded” the gears for a few seconds going a bit too fast trying to go into 4L, I slowed down and it worked. 4L went into neutral a couple of times within the first few minutes of going into 4L which was frustrating, but eventually 4L “stuck” and I was happy with it. I then disconnected the sway bar.

As a first timer, I noticed 2 things- first, 4L has some real strength behind it. There were a lot of times I really had to brake quit forcefully to get my truck to stop. Second, the truck really bounces a lot when that 4L takes you up to about 10 mph. I never exceeded 10-12 mph in 4L.

the “easy” trails I rode mostly consisted of unimproved roads, a few rocks here and there, and lots of ponded water. I did have to turn around on G40 due to the trail being washed out and understanding that my lack of recovery gear would have led to me high centering. I am going to attach a winch soon, and I’ll return to Windrock to tackle some moderate trails.