Reaction score
Website
www.astronerd.net
Vehicle(s)
22 JT Sport S, 14 Mustang GT/CS, 04 Honda Pilot
Occupation
Finance/Accounting
Hello All,
I’m in the market for a mid sized pickup truck. I’ve never owed a truck or a Jeep so the Gladiator would be a real first for me.

The use case for me is around towing and payload. I’m an amateur astronomer and my gear can get heavy and take up quite a bit of space. When I head out for more than one night of observing, I’ll tow my Aliner camper. I don’t go wheeling and the most off-road I see is towing my gear down a dirt path or on to a field, rough terrain and carefully collimated optics don’t work well together. I also do some driving on the beaches here in North Carolina. My Pilot with tires aired down and it’s AWD has never gotten stuck but then again I don’t go crazy and I always keep my limited ground clearance in mind.

My camper weighs a tad over 2,700 fully loaded. My astronomy gear weighs in at 300lbs (telescope, mounts, counter weight, eyepieces, cameras, etc.). My current vehicle is a 2004 Honda Pilot. It handles everything just fine except for the squat in rear suspension, a well known problem for older Pilots. Also, the gear takes up all the room in the Pilot except for the front seat a 1 seat in the 2nd row (e.g. I only have room for the driver and 2 passengers. I also carry some camping related items in a roof basket.

I want to upgrade my vehicle so I can carry more passengers and/or my dogs as well as eventually upgrade to a large travel trailer.

I thought about a full size pickup but when I test drove them, they just felt so big in parking lots. This would be my daily driver and a full size truck would just be too big for daily stuff and even overkill for the next size camper under 25ft and max weight of 6,000lbs. Therefore a mid-sized pickup sounds like the logical step.