Sponsored

Houston to Alaska summer 2024.. and Dalton highway.

smlobx

First Name
Eddie
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
JTR, F-350 diesel, Porsche Spyder, Model Y
Occupation
Semi retired consultant
have you guys done the McCarthy Road?
it is only a 59 miles off road.

IMG_BA1BECAD01F0-1.jpeg
Yep we did it and highly recommend it!
The road is severely washboarded but we knew that going in. We ended up camping on a small lake about half way to McCarthy and it was a beautiful spot. Saw Mt. Goats across the road and hear loons all night long.

Do it!
Sponsored

Free2roam

First Name
Robert
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
Gladiator
Occupation
Fabricator by trade/ Maintenance Mechanic
Would absolutely love to do a trip and end up in Tuk. Correct me if I'm wrong. But that's the farthest point you can drive to in North America? Even going all the way to prudhoe Bay would be cool. But no access to the ocean from there.

smlobx

First Name
Eddie
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
JTR, F-350 diesel, Porsche Spyder, Model Y
Occupation
Semi retired consultant
Would absolutely love to do a trip and end up in Tuk. Correct me if I'm wrong. But that's the farthest point you can drive to in North America? Even going all the way to prudhoe Bay would be cool. But no access to the ocean from there.
Prudhoe Bay is the furthest North you can drive in NA even if you can’t reach the Arctic Ocean. You can take a tour of restricted area which includes a stop at the ocean if you want to dip your toes in.
Prudhoe Bay (where you can drive)is approx. 70 degrees, 13 minutes North while Tuk is about 69 degrees, 27 minutes North. One of my overlanding goals on trips is to go to the most remote drivable points and so far I’ve done the ones for North America and a few on other continents.

Interestingly, if that is something you want to do then while you’re up in AK it has the Westerly most drivable point in NA at a place called Anchor Point…