First Name
Lucas
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2021 Gladiator Mojave, Granite Crystal
Occupation
Corporate Tool
So, with absolutely no coercion or hint dropping on my part, my wife just up and said, "The tires on your Gladiator look kinda small..." I guess I got the golden ticket - permission from the wife to buy new toys! :rock:

I've looked at quite a few build pictures, and I think I like the look of a lot of the factory wheels with 35" tires on them. But, a lot of the ones I seem to like also appear to have some kind of small lift/level to it, so the front end is a bit higher than factory, and the truck sits more horizontal. So, in my head, I'm looking at:

- A set of 35" tires that would fit on the factory rims (17"?)
- A spacer lift kit

I realize this is probably not rocket surgery, but I've never done anything like this before with a vehicle, and I've heard of a lot of complications that people run into when they start effing with their Jeeps too much (wobbles, poorer mpg, etc). So...
  1. If I like the look of the 35" tires, does it matter if I keep the 17" factory wheels, or should I get bigger wheels as well (like the 18" from Overlands)? My Mojave is mostly a pavement princess for now, so I'm not all that concerned about sidewall height or anything. I'm just not sure what the pros/cons of more/less tire sidewall height are.
  2. For the lift, because my Gladiator is a Mojave, I 100% do not want to screw with the shocks or suspension at all. Is putting a spacer lift on it going to affect anything other than ride height?
  3. I know that, just because math, my speedometer is going to be off if I increase tire size. Do shops typically have access to devices that can re-program the ECU in my Gladiator to understand that it's riding on 35" now? I have read that a lot of people invest in Tazers for that purpose, but that's a lot of money for something I only ever need to do one time.