Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
Jeep JT sports S Max Tow (Sold) '23 Ram 1500
Occupation
Magician
Vehicle Showcase
STATS
-2020 JTMT
-Iron Rock 2in steel spacers all around.
-285/75/17 AT tires (10ply sidewall)
-4.10 gears (looking at regear to 4.56)

-2021 Forest River 18TO Black Label Wolf Pup
-Tongue weight 470lbs dry
-Trailer weight 4,600lbs dry
-Total weight loaded is 6,500 fully loaded (haven't had it here yet)

I am new to all of this and I'm thinking I have the wrong type of WDH for my truck and trailer.

I currently have a reese WDH I got from a friend. I have to tighten the chains to the minimum allowable 5 links just to get the truck to sit mostly level with a tongue weight of 470lbs...This just seems strange to me. The EDH is stored in the trailer on a local airbase so I haven't gotten to it to check for part number or anything.

I measured the front and rear once I installed the hitch and sit about 1/2in lower in the rear than the front with the trailer on. that was the best of all of the positions I tried as I tested and adjusted the WDG setup. I know that's not bad..but the WDH just doesn't look right to me.

I got a Fastway E2 hitch today off craigslist that I am interested in trying. It's rated for 1,000 of tongue weight.

My question is....is it a thing to have a WDH that is not appropriate for your trailer weight? I've seen WDH rated for up to 800lbs of tongue, which is closer to my total tongue once the trailer is loaded. I'm thinking that would be more...appropriate...than one rated for 1,000lbs or more. But I don't know enough and cant seem to just google a dang answer.

261CCCC4-697C-4F86-ADB7-BC4444ADFFF7.jpeg

A1C8396C-8957-4085-9005-C9A7ED8BEF9A.jpeg
Sponsored

Jaxmax

First Name
Jack
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
Jeeps....... 2021 Mojave , 2019 Wrangler
Occupation
Electrical Manager