James
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2020 Gladiator Sport S w Max Tow
Occupation
LEO
Vehicle Showcase
Not going to get into which models specifically cause it’s been previously discussed that two rubicon’s can have different GVWR but if you’re a small business and your Gladiator’s GVWR is over 6000lbs you can use the section 179 tax deduction if you used vehicle for work more then 50% of the time. I’m no tax expert ( just a cop who uses his Gladiator for extra jobs) but look into it, may help you.
Sponsored

Mark Doiron

First Name
Mark
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2007 JKU X, 1979 Tenth Anniversary Trans Am, 2020 Gobi Gladiator Rubicon
Occupation
Retired
Not going to get into which models specifically cause it’s been previously discussed that two rubicon’s can have different GVWR but if you’re a small business and your Gladiator’s GVWR is over 6000lbs you can use the section 179 tax deduction if you used vehicle for work more then 50% of the time. I’m no tax expert ( just a cop who uses his Gladiator for extra jobs) but look into it, may help you.
I would caution that if you choose the Section 179 deduction and later close or stop earning business income, then you must pay recapture taxes. You could end up paying those recapture taxes when you have a significant drop in income because of that business closure. It could be safer to take straight-line depreciation if you're uncertain how long that business is going to last (especially, say, for a second job).

OP
OP
JkJT84

JkJT84

First Name
James
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2020 Gladiator Sport S w Max Tow
Occupation
LEO
Vehicle Showcase