ESS Question……

BlueCT

First Name
Chris
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2014 JKU
Full disclosure I’m no expert so take this with a grain of salt. I bought a launch edition JT brand new but it sat on the lot for 7 months before I bought it. THe ESS battery was shot so ESS didn’t work. I decided not to bother getting it warrantied because i hate ESS. Now almost 3 years later I brought it in. They replaced the ESS battery and the main battery. After that the ESS is working as expected. I still hate it but I guess I will buy a tazer.

I actually think if you disable ESS with a Tazer it probably helps preserve your several components of your Jeep. 1) batteries have a life the more you drain and recharge them the quicker they die, I would think if you weren’t using the ESS battery but were driving the Jeep that battery would last longer. 2) Your starter, this I’m just guessing on but I don’t believe there is a 2nd starter so with ESS enabled you start you’re Jeep on average probably 20 times more than with it disable. I would imagine that wears our your starter more. Basically, all things mechanical wear from use. Now if you NEVER use something mechanical it can be bad but you are still using your starter.
Sponsored

OP
OP

RK Racing

First Name
Robert
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
22 Rubi 2 door, 23 Gladiator.......
Thank
Full disclosure I’m no expert so take this with a grain of salt. I bought a launch edition JT brand new but it sat on the lot for 7 months before I bought it. THe ESS battery was shot so ESS didn’t work. I decided not to bother getting it warrantied because i hate ESS. Now almost 3 years later I brought it in. They replaced the ESS battery and the main battery. After that the ESS is working as expected. I still hate it but I guess I will buy a tazer.