Bill
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
'22 JTO, '23 JLU, '82 SX4, '73 P. Cardin Javelin
Occupation
Retired auto mechanic, frmr gov't ntwrk security admin
Vehicle Showcase
Did you check torque immediately and find it lose or after awhile? I've had lug nuts I've put on myself and torqued back off 40-50 miles later. It does happen and they should have mentioned to check them after 50 miles or so.
Any time wheels are moved, like you say - torque them, drive it, and then 50-100 miles later, retorque.
The local Chevy dealer always told me "drive it 100 miles then come back" (they added "or check it yourself" after I told them I was a retired mechanic)
50 should be good enough to move and stress things and make sure the nuts are seated in the wheels.
Sponsored

Pedal Metal

First Name
Bret
Threads
Reaction score
Website
www.youtube.com
Vehicle(s)
2021 Gladiator, 1975 Camaro, 1973 Beetle
Occupation
Analyst
Easy fix, but I would require a dealer fix and document so it’s on record with Jeep that this was a problem. Consider that any number of latent issues could show at a later date and if they would when you’re on the wrong side of warranty, but still within a reasonable margin or something is labeled wear and tear and not warranted when it likely should be, then I’d pull this little report of poor quality control out from my back pocket if I felt a broader conversation was merited. My $.02’s.

Side note, I checked my oil on my newest rig before I even drove it off the lot. So, maybe I’m a little paranoid, but I just like to have good bedrock for a baseline.

trust

First Name
terry
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
1982 Jeep Scrambler, 2020 Jeep Gladiator Rubicon
Occupation
Retired
Vehicle Showcase
That's happened to me twice now, both times lower drivers he'll. First time I got a new link. Second I just re tapped the threads and put a new nut on, last time I used a spare stock downlink nut. It's annoying as hell. It's way over torqued now and may get locktight next time