First Name
Matt
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2021 Jeep Gladiator Overland
Occupation
Support Analyst
I don't wheel my gladiator. I got my skid plate in about May, 2022. The first thee images are from November 2023. I ground that thing down to nothing but shiny steel. Then I primed it (at least 2 coats) and then I rattle canned it (2 coats Tremclad Professional). The last photo, I took today. I think it's a bad piece of "stainless" (?) steel. I am by no means an expert at all. But I'm thinking about getting something fabricated locally to hold the lights. There's a ton of metal knowledge in Hamilton.

IMG_9819[1].JPG

IMG_9821[1].JPG

IMG_9822[1].JPG

IMG_0165[1].JPG
Sponsored

Reactions: mog

Delhux

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2020 Gladiator - Overland - Gator
It does look like there might have been some sort of scrapes along the leading edge of the skid plate that allowed the oxidation to begin. How long has the skid plate been installed? Feel free to DM me with details if you would rather.
I have had the skid plate installed for about two years (early adopter).

For what it is worth, I am confident it has not actually had any scrapesā€”just seems to rust and the coating flakes away easily so I try not to touch it.

Delhux

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
When they introduced this it didnā€™t make much sense to me. Seems like a bad place to mount a light bar. Particularly bad up here in the Northeast.
I was drawn to itā€™s use up here in the North East, primarily because it was a great way to get low-mount amber lights for snowy conditions (I think we all know how bad the standard LED lights are in a snow storm).

bd100

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
JT, WK2, ole' Ram