Geoarch

First Name
Steve
Threads
Reaction score
Website
swxrflab.net
Vehicle(s)
2024 JTR, Bright White AT; 2022 JTR MT (traded)
Occupation
geoarchaeologist (retired)
10k is max.
5 is too frequent unless you operate in dirty or high heat conditions.
Oils break down with high heat.
About 8 will be ok for me unless i tow, then I might do a bit sooner. Don't go over a year due to environmental conditions, though. That's been my way for since I owned my first car at 14.
I base my choices on experience and training.
About the same for me. More often in summers since I’m in NM.
Sponsored

cuellar13

First Name
Marty
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2022 RAM, 2021 Bronco Big Bend, 1966 GMC Stepside
Occupation
Director of Recruitment for Pharma/Biotech/Device Consulting Firm
I was a manager at On With Life, wore many hats. The boss suggested I have some "lunch and learn" safety meetings for staff. I called the local fire department, they did their thing, and some other people and organizations - among them, Iowa Highway Patrol. The trooper talked about highway safety, what to do if stranded with a deaf vehicle along the road and such. He relayed some of his personal experiences while on the job.
He came upon a car on the shoulder, hood up, driver sitting in the seat.
The trooper pulled up and got out and asked the guy what was wrong. He said it was losing power and just suddenly died and he can't get it to start.
So the trooper went and checked under the hood - checked for the usual signs, belts, hoses, fuel - gauge indicated plenty of fuel. He pulled the dipstick.......... wiped it, put it back and pulled it out again. Same results - dry.
Trooper goes back and looks at the odo - something like 35,000 miles.
He asked the driver when he last had his oil changed.
Oh, I don't have to do that, this is a leased car.

Obviously, he not only figured it didn't need oil changes, being a leased car, but that also means you don't need to check any fluids.