Sponsored

Replacing 1 tire/Tread Depth. Lets fight.

JohnnyUtah

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2015 JK, 2016 JKU, 2020 JT Mojave
I'm not a mechanic, just a guy that likes to critically think. Tell me where my thinking is incorrect.

If you damage a tire on the trail, can you replace just the damaged tire?

My contention is yes, as long as your vehicle isn't fulltime 4wd or AWD.
The wheels spin independently unless you have the diff locked. Since they spin independently, there is ZERO more stress on the diff than if you were driving on a curvy road. There is zero more stress than if one of your tires was running 5 lbs less than another. Running 3 tires at 9/32nds and 1 tire at 16/32nds wouldn't make a damn bit of difference or damage in my mind.

Tell me why I'm wrong. Not what the tire salesman says, but how exactly running the 2 different tread depths of the same tire causes damage to the drive train with an open diff. And before we start talking about running it in 4wd, remember we shouldn't be running in 4wd until the surface conditions are loose or slick, once again, creating a condition where the diff wouldn't bind.

I'm really asking this question to learn. Tell me the why, not the recommendation of the tire place.
Sponsored

BamaJeepTruck

Banned
Banned
First Name
Reinhardt
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2020 Jeep Gladiator Sport S