Sponsored

Anyone with Grimm Off-Road ARB compressor bracket?

duvinclunk

First Name
Davin
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
21 JTR
Does anyone have the Grimm Off-road ARB dual compressor mount? Their mount installs the compressor in the driver's side wheel well...close to the catalytic converter. I wasn't sold on the location at first due to its proximity to the exhaust but after reading their assurances and seeing that Northridge 4x4 recommended and sold the product I decided to go for it. I'm not a fan of having the compressor in the vehicle and prefer it up front. Well I have been using it for a few months now and it has been working well until this last week. Now it has been quite warm in the last few weeks but when I tried to use the compressor off the trail this last weekend it shut off on me due to excessive heat. I thought it to be a fluke so I decided to try it out again today. I drove home the 25min on the freeway, aired down when I arrived home, and then attempted to air up again. I got to the last tire and the compressor shut off again. I spoke to Grimm and they said during testing they ran their Gladiator for 8 hours straight with the compressor going the whole time and heat was never an issue and it never shut down. I'm having a hard time believing that the compressor itself could be bad as has given me zero hiccups since I've owned it and have used it a decent amount. I wanted to see if anyone else has this mount or has experienced the same issue with heat soak when installing the compressor in the wheel well.
Sponsored

Northridge4x4

Summit Sponsor (Level 3)
Threads
Reaction score
Website
www.northridge4x4.com
Vehicle(s)
2016 Sahara JKU, 2013 Rubicon JKU
Occupation
Seller of badassery
We have installed about 100 and sold around 500 of these and have not had any issues with heat at all. We also run it on our 6.4 which creates more heat than the factory engine with zero issues.