First Name
Joe
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2015 Willys 2dr
Occupation
Service Advisor
A long time ago, when I was a service writer, last thing we did after a test drive to check that repairs were completed correctly was to back up to show room windows, activate all rear lights and confirm they were working.
Sponsored

Freebooter

First Name
Brad
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2020 Mojave, 2020 124 Spider Abarth
Occupation
Almost Retired
Well mine went out a few days ago. 37k...........great timing. Thanks five-0 for the video. There are two little plastic clips that hold the handle/light assembly in place. Had to fool around with that to get them to release. A small flat head screw driver did the trick, one access hole was rectangular and one was round. The releases are toward the bottom of the plastic handle or toward the bed when the tailgate is lowered. Total time to replace was about 20 minutes. Dealer had one in stock for $112, she said $140 list (BS) so just paid a little extra to get it done! Did add a little dielectric grease.

https://www.jeepgladiatorforum.com/forum/threads/gladiator-3rd-tail-light-replacement.45771/

porsharman

First Name
Ray
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2006 Jeep Wrangler Rubicon.
Curious as to how folks determine when a 3rd brake light isn't working - are they standing behind their truck when someone else is driving?
Man, I can't see mine when I'm driving it. It may have been out for a year and I'd not know it.
I don't normally apply the brakes and walk around the truck (I find that to be extremely difficult, even if I was a much younger person) so do people have mirrors in their garages?
My scanner found mine was out. To confirm I took a piece of wood and wedged it between the brake pedal and seat… and sure enough it was not working.

vicsvx

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2021 Gladiator Sport S 3.0