First Name
Erric
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
None
Occupation
Well fed
Newbie here and first post, dumb/question. Hi all. After much thinking about wants and needs, I always come back to the Gladiator. I tried to search but can't find info about adding regearing with LSD.
How possible is it to re-gear a Willy for larger (33 or 35") tires, keep the LSD, and maybe upgrade to lockers without spending a ton and not lowering the original towing capacity?
I'm also new to off-roading, but if I really like trails (expecting I will), I'll want to upgrade the Gladiator later.
Thanks!

EDIT: I meant regearing with LSD first then replace with lockers later..
Sponsored

Last edited:

Wheelin98TJ

First Name
Ryan
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2021 Jeep Gladiator
Occupation
Bean Counter
You can't keep your existing LSD and upgrade to a locker. The locker replaces the LSD.

There are a few selectable lockers that are LSD when unlocked, but none that work in the Dana Advantek axles the Gladiator uses.

OP
OP

enewmen

First Name
Erric
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
None
Occupation
Well fed
You can't keep your existing LSD and upgrade to a locker. The locker replaces the LSD.

There are a few selectable lockers that are LSD when unlocked, but none that work in the Dana Advantek axles the Gladiator uses.
Thanks for thee reply. So it seems then I can have the regear and keep the LSD, then replace the LSD to lockers later.

Last edited:

Hootbro

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2022 Gladiator Rubicon
Just for a point of reference, I went from the stock size Willys tires to the 285/70/17 tire size found on the Rubicon models and the real diameter size difference was 0.6". After adjusting the tire size with Jscan. there really was no appreciable difference in how my Willys ran with the 3.73 gearing.

If you go to some 35" tires, then yeah, a re-gear will be needed.

Wheelin98TJ

First Name
Ryan
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2021 Jeep Gladiator
Occupation
Bean Counter