Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2021 Gladiator Rubicon, Mercedes SL550
Build Thread
Link
Occupation
Almost retired Project Manager.
Question... I am getting ready to buy a winch for my JTR. I know Warn has a great reputation and is high quality. I have also heard that the Smittybilt X20 winch is a decent winch for the money. Is the difference in cost between a Warn EVO and a Smittybilt X20 or XRC really worth it?
Sponsored

Xxtavixx

First Name
Andrew
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
JTRD
I just did this exact debate, ended up with warn. Im new to winches. There are a few side by side comparisons, but i figure if i am going to spend that much a little extra isnt a big deal.

dreston

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
Jeep Gladiator
No doubt that Warn winches are very dependable.

gotswap

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2020 Gladiator Rubicon
Have a smitty on my YJ and a warn on the JT. There is no comparison to the 2, the warn is just so much better in all aspects.

Keep in mind my comparison is between the gen 2 smitty and the 12-s platinum

That being said, my smitty has never failed me.

Last edited:

Deadeye

First Name
JC
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
Gladiator Launch Edition
I went for the SMitty Bilt XRC gen3 12k pound model for a few reasons:
  • Outperformed even the high end winches by Warn in most comparisons I found (magazines, youtube, internet). 0 failures noted, faster, cooler, pulled more.
  • Price
  • Most reports put Smittybilt's winches at least as reliable as warn's in recent years, if not significantly better.
  • Warn's warranty service- a little googling of reviews makes it look like Warn has grown very hard to work with over recent years.
  • I really liked warn's wireless controls on some of the models, but in reading reviews, I am sure I would be one of the folks that lets the handle run out of charge before use, so that became a moot point