Sponsored

Worn drag link, replace tie rod or ride it out?

MJRSC

First Name
Mark
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2022 JT Mojave
Occupation
Lawyer
Felt steering was getting a little loose, turns out its a worn OEM drag link.

Shop said, hey as long as you’re replacing it, think about the tie rod and maybe the sector brace.

‘The truck has been perfect, should I bother with that or save the cash? I guess will I really feel a difference? Wouldn’t I also need to relocate my steering stabilizer (another $)?

Thanks all
Jeep Gladiator Worn drag link, replace tie rod or ride it out? IMG_2320
Sponsored

TheRealStreetcommander

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
Gladiator
Occupation
None of your business.
I have no direct experience with high mile JT front ends.

Your tire size looks reasonable. The front end parts on our JTs are huge compared to our segment competitors. By a significant margin. I wouldn’t see any danger in only replacing what’s loose for the time being.

How many miles?

OP
OP
MJRSC

MJRSC

First Name
Mark
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2022 JT Mojave
Occupation
Lawyer
I have no direct experience with high mile JT front ends.

Your tire size looks reasonable. The front end parts on our JTs are huge compared to our segment competitors. By a significant margin. I wouldn’t see any danger in only replacing what’s loose for the time being.

How many miles?
Appreciate the reply. Low, 9500mi. 37” “light” KO2’s, geo brackets, never even “wheeled” yet.
Shops said they’ve seen worn drag links on nearly brand new ones on stock everything, just a bit of a weak point and known issue.

That’s my thought as well, fix it and keep going until anything else appears as it’s been extremely good to me so far.

kennyglm

First Name
kenny
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2021 gladiator
My draglink was bad at 3000 miles not to big of a deal since the warranty covered it. If it goes bad again i will look into something more heavy duty

JTDay

First Name
Josh
Threads