Sponsored

Carrying gas cans

Fpolanco

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2021 Jeep Gladiator Mojave
I'm looking to do the White Rim Trail in Moab this summer. I'm also looking at ways to carry extra fuel.

I currently have a bed rack where my RTT sits but the rack is also covered with a soft top-type material (https://www.jeepgladiatorforum.com/forum/threads/soft-top-over-my-bed-rack.63041/). I just mounted a Rotopax mount on the inside to potentially use for the trip.

For those of you that carry the old-school 5 gallon jerry cans, do you find that you have to burp the cans due to temperature/altitude changes? Any issues with the cans leaking?

For those of you carrying in the bed of the truck, do you use any mounts or just play camping Tetris and wedge everything together?

Thanks!
Sponsored

Free2roam

First Name
Robert
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
Gladiator
Occupation
Fabricator by trade/ Maintenance Mechanic
Well mine is diesel I imagine that they expand a little differently. I have two wavian Jerry cans and the wavian spout. I haven't had to burp them at all. Gone from 4100 ft to sea level and back. They seem pretty solid to me. Although I haven't had them in the heat yet. So I don't have any hard knowledge in that spectrum.

fourfa

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
22 JTRD + ACCC
Build Thread
Link
In a diesel now with a bed-mounted 15 gal tank, so hopefully the jerry can days are over...

But in my previous gas truck, I often carried 4 Scepter MFC plastic fuel cans (US Army surplus). You'll likely end up with some of the OG or imitation metal jerry cans instead. If the seals are in good shape, they'll swell in heat and sun but hold pressure. But it's better to burp them. The seals will hold if stored on their side but it's better to avoid it if you can.

But another answer is, White Rim is only 100 miles, pretty easy driving, and not that far from Moab. If you can't get 250 miles of range out of a tank you must be on tank treads lol.