First Name
Mike
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2021 Jeep Gladiator Mojave
Occupation
Retired Broadcast Engineer
I'm not an expert in washing engine compartments but can recommend a few things from experience. Never wash a hot engine! I did this once to an IROC Z28 and it cracked the aluminum intake manifold. I actually heard it crack. Avoid high pressure spray where it might force water where it doesn't belong. This would be things like into the alternator, distributor, electrical connections, any place that water would normally never be able to get into. After washing or cleaning the engine compartment I always start the vehicle right after to make sure it works and runs smooth, then drive it around to let the heat and fan evaporate everything.
Sponsored

Trailman

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2020 Gladiator Rubicon
Obviously these cleaned engines look fantastic. In comparison mine looks like... crap. I'm jealous.

But can anyone comment on the health of the engine? Is this good, bad, irrelevant, etc? I've always been too nervous to do any type of cleaning under the hood. And I've had a Toyota hit 285k before I traded it in... but I wasn't doing snow trails, mud trails, river crossings, etc...

NachoRuby

First Name
Chad
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
'21 JTR , '18 JLU, 73 VW Bug, 97 VW Jetta, all MTs
Here are the shots, they had the right idea, but the tape was too short.
2878A627-13FE-4018-8AD6-DB2484ABEF38.jpeg
BE59012D-2CCB-49BB-9803-6E5B4A82D0FB.jpeg
Mine's like that too. I had them repaint under warranty. Still. It's just going to do it again though.

Maximus Gladius

First Name
Kevin
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2021 Gladiator Rubicon
Occupation
Construction, Gold Mining, Surface Engineer
How do you like the trigger 6? What mount did you go for in the cabin?