Sponsored

Anyone using a Dc to Dc charger for a second battery?

OVRLND_G8R

First Name
Cory
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2020 Jeep Gladiator Gator
The manual specifically states that the dc charger and battery not be put in the same compartment because it could be a fire hazard but if you dont care, to each their own.
Agreed but some additional information is my battery is a LiFeSO4 battery, so it doesn’t have any gasses as it is sealed and also is not a “flammable material”. I’m no expert but I thought I was adhering to all the info in the manual. If I missed something please let me know.

Below is the what I was following from the manual

Jeep Gladiator Anyone using a Dc to Dc charger for a second battery? 7A6FC25C-1250-4F8C-AA15-3D1FF883D7C0

once again. I’m not an expert so I do appreciate the criticism and forcing me to circle back 👍🏼
Sponsored

bonediggy

First Name
Brian
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
Gladiator Sport S Max Tow
Well I've started with wiring that system (Renogy Dual Input DC-DC 30A) in mine to charge the LiPo battery to run my fridge freezer and other stuff, right now it's just powering my radio. I've not hooked it in to Jeep electric system yet. It would have been done a few days back but I've been tied up with some other problems as of late.
A big thanks to "Dan G. Of the road chose me" who is a member here. I was about to install a different company solar charge controller MPPT type. "It will be going into my RV now"
The trigger wire needs to be hooked to a engine running circuit only it's recommended to not be the 12 v power port due to being on in acc mode too. As you have found out. I'm thinking about trying to use the 5th wire from Aux switch group in cab as a test to save me from needing to run another wire up to engine compartment.