First Name
Matt
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2020 Gladiator
Introduction
f7FLG13.jpg

I picked up this 2020 Gladiator Sport S w/ max tow last weekend from a dealership about an hour away (shoutout Chris at Rockland Jeep in NY). Every fiber of my being was telling me to get a Rubicon, but with a Raptor already in the garage, the purpose of this truck is to be my 'more reasonable' vehicle. That's what I'm telling my wife, anyway.

I hesitate a bit to call this a 'build' but for the sake of tradition, we'll call it that. My day job is to design and manufacture Ford truck accessories, so when feasible, I'll probably try to find time nights/weekends to make some of the parts that I want. If at any point, any of the stuff I build is of interest to others, I'll see about becoming a vendor here and making some extras. Until then, no talk of work - I'm here as Matt the enthusiast!

I mentioned the Raptor and it's relevant here because it's f******* massive and although it's a blast, it's a huge (literally) pain in the ass around town. I'm looking forward to having something that's a more manageable size but still a ton of fun. In the week that I've had the Gladiator, I'm already enjoying all of the other friendly Wrangler owners in the area waving. That Jeep wave is a real thing.

The Plan

Enough with the niceties. The plan is to modify this truck by making small, incremental improvements, as I identify things or features that I want. Anything that I can design, manufacture myself, I will. Here's a list of what I'm interested in at the moment:
  • Stubby Antenna - Seems lame, but I hate that I can see the longer antenna out the windshield and that it's floppy enough that it moves a lot. I stopped on my way home from the dealership thinking it was loose
  • Wheels/Tires - On the stock non-rubi wheels, I'll be honest, the thing looks a little lame. For weekend trips and such, I also want at least the same performance that I get out of the tires on my current truck